Conference Faculty

•   Clinical Update
•   Hotel & travel

•    Program
•   Pre-conference workshops
•   Agenda

•   Partners

•   Register

Professional Education Advisory Committee Co-Chairs

Michael E. Farkouh MD, MSc, FRCPC, FACC, FAHA
Peter Munk Chair in Multinational Clinical Trials
Director, Heart and Stroke/Richard Lewar Centre of Excellence in Cardiovascular Research, 
Professor and Vice-Chair Research, 
Department of Medicine, University of Toronto

W.J. Oczkowski MD, FRCPC
Professor and Head, Division of Neurology, McMaster University, Hamilton Health Sciences

Professional Education Advisory Committee Members

Jo-Anne Costello RN (EC), NP, MScN, CDE
Adult/Primary Care Provider, Orangeville, Guelph

Elaine Edwards RN, HBScN
Regional Stroke Educator, Northwestern Ontario Regional Stroke Network, Thunder Bay Regional Health Science Centre

David Engelberg DMD, MD, CCFP
Family Physician, Toronto
Lecturer, Department of Family and Community Medicine, University of Toronto

Nadine Gauthier MD, MEd, FRCPC
Associate Program Director, Internal Medicine Residency Training Program
Content Expert in Undergraduate Cardiology
Resident Coordinator for Cardiology, General site
Assistant Professor of Medicine, University of Ottawa

Ayman Hassan MD
Associate Professor, Northern Ontario School of Medicine 
Clinical Science Division, Internal Medicine/Neurology Department 
Medical Lead Neurology and Stroke Service, TBRHSC

Cheryl Jaigobin MD, FRCPC, MSc
Division of Neurology, University Health Network
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto

Julie Lorenzin MScN, RN, CCN(c)
Clinical Nurse Specialist, Cardiac Care Program, University Hospital, London Health Sciences Centre

David McCarty MB, BCh, MRCP (UK)
Associate Professor, Division of Cardiology, Department of Medicine, Western University, London, Ontario

Ritesh Mistry MD, CCFP
Fellowship in Hospital Medicine
Hospitalist, William Osler Health Centre
Assistant Clinical Professor, Family Medicine, DeGroote School of Medicine, McMaster University

Tammy Tebbutt RN, MN
District Stroke Coordinator,Director Waterloo Wellington District Stroke Program

Brent D Wolfrom MD, CCFP
Family Physician, Kingston
Assistant Professor, Department of Family Medicine, Queens University

Conference Faculty

Aaron Baggish MD
Associate Director, Cardiovascular Performance Program
Massachusetts General Hospital

Catherine Ballyk MD, FRCPC
Medical Director, Stroke Unit, Brant Community Health Care System, Brantford, Ontario

Douglas Bradley BA, MD
Senior Scientist, Toronto General Research Institute (TGRI) & Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (TRI)
Research Division Head, Toronto Rehabilitation Institute (TRI)

Joseph Cafazzo PhD, PEng

Executive Director, Biomedical Engineering, UHN,
Lead, Centre for Global eHealth Innovation
Senior Director, Healthcare Human Factors
Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine, UofT

John Eikelboom MBBS, MSc
Hematologist, Hamilton Health Sciences
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, McMaster University  

Lorne Gula MD, FRCPC
Professor, Western University
Cardiologist, Heart Rhythm Specialist
Director, Electrophysiology Laboratory, London, Ontario

Jacob J. Wolfe Distinguished Medical Research Chair in Human Gene Function
Martha G. Blackburn Chair in Cardiovascular Research
Director, London Regional Genomics Centre
Scientist, Robarts Research Institute
Distinguished University Professor, Western University

Elke Hilgendag OT
Navigator, Stroke Unit, Brant Community Health System, Brantford, Ontario

Associate Professor, University of Ottawa
Head, Division of Geriatric Medicine
University of Ottawa and the Ottawa Hospital

Cheryl Jaigobin MD, FRCPC, MSc
Division of Neurology, University Health Network
Associate Professor, Department of Medicine, University of Toronto

Darlene Kitty, MD, CCFP
Director, Indigenous Program at Faculty of Medicine, University of Ottawa
Indigenous Physicians Association of Canada

Christine Lay MD, FRCP
Associate Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto
Director, Women's College Hospital Centre for Headache

Peter Leong-Sit MD, MSc, FRCPC, FHRS

Associate Professor, Western University
Cardiologist, London Heart Rhythm Program

Maureen Leyser RNEC, BScN , MN - NP
London Health Sciences Centre, University Hospital
Inpatient Cardiology, Heart Failure and LVAD Clinics

Eva Lonn MD, MSc, FRCPC
Professor of Medicine, McMaster University
Senior Scientist, Population Health Research Institute

Jennifer Mandzia MD, PhD, FRCPC
Assistant Professor, Western University
Neurologist, London Health Sciences Centre
Co-Medical Director Southwest Ontario Stroke Network 

William McIntyre MD, FRCPC
Clinical and Research Fellow, Cardiac Arrhythmia
Population Health Research Institute, McMaster University

Jeff Myers MD, MSEd, CCFP (PC)
Associate Professor, University of Toronto
Palliative Care Physician, Sinai Health System

W.J. Oczkowski MD, FRCPC
Professor and Head, Division of Neurology, McMaster University, Hamilton Health Sciences

Guillaume Paré MD, MSc, FRCPC
Associate Professor, McMaster University
Canada Research Chair in Genetic & Molecular Epidemiology
Director, Genetic and Epidemiology Laboratory

Kanjana Perera MD, FRCPC
Assistant Professor, McMaster University
Stroke Neurologist, Hamilton Health Sciences

Damian Redfearn MB, ChB, MRCPI, FRCPC
Director of Heart Rhythm Service, Kingston General Hospital

Robert Rosenson MD
Director, Cardiometabolic Disorders, Mount Sinai Heart
Professor of Medicine, Mount Sinai School of Medicine

Ashkan Shoamanesh MD, FRCPC
Assistant Professor of Medicine (Neurology)
Marta and Owen Boris Chairin Stroke Research and Care, McMaster University

Samuel Siu MD
Professor of Medicine, Cardiologist
Schulich School of Medicine & Dentistry
Western University    

Stuart J. Smith MD, FRCPC
Associate Professor, Western University
Director, Heart Failure Service
London Health Sciences Centre and St. Joseph Hospital

Grant Stotts MD, FRCPC
Assistant Professor, uOttawa Brain and Mind Institute
Medical Director, Champlain Regional Stroke Network

Rick Swartz MD, PhD, FRCPC
Scientist, Assistant professor, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

HSF/NOSM Chair of Aboriginal and Rural Health Research
Professor of Medicine, Northern Ontario School of Medicine
Professor of Medicine, University of Toronto
Nephrologist, Sunnybrook Health Sciences Centre

Maria Wolfs MD, MHSc, FRCPC
Assistant Professor, University of Toronto
Endocrinologist, St. Michael's Hospital

Catherine Yu MD, FRCPC, MHSc
Staff, Division of Endocrinology & Metabolism, St. Michael's Hospital
Associate Professor, Faculty of Medicine and Dalla Lana School of Public Health, University of Toronto
Associate Scientist, Li Ka Shing Knowledge Institute of St. Michael's Hospital


We're going Green. In support of a healthier environment future promotions will be moving to digital communications only.

To ensure you are notified moving forward please email with the subject line CUemail.